Holistic RDN

An exploration in well-being, real foods and simple living. Let me help you on your path to wellness.

Raw Almond Milk

Today was the beginning of my three-day weekend! I celebrated by trying something new in the kitchen. I have been meaning to make raw nut milk for quite a while. Luckily, the Internet had a few easy recipes, so I gave it a try. I put one cup raw slivered almonds, three cups water and one soaked date in the blender. Then I strained the mixture through some cheese cloth to give me this:

It turned out a little less flavorful than the commercial product, so I may add less water and more dates the next time. However, in all of its raw goodness, I was happy with the end product. Blending it so thoroughly gave me this amazing foam on top, a pleasant surprise! As I wrote about in a previous post, I am a barista, so you know what I thought when I saw that foam…

While I’m not drinking coffee during the 10 day cleanse, I did make some tasty herbal tea – with foamed “milk.” It was kinds weird when the foam melted in though…

I also made a new smoothie with the raw almond milk. It was strawberry banana plus flax and chia seeds. I was looking forward to the pretty pink color I thought it would be. But, I couldn’t resist throwing something green in there – Spirulina powder! It turned out a weird gray color, but it tasted great!

Have a wonderful day!

3 comments on “Raw Almond Milk

  1. maria
    April 13, 2012

    It is not hard to do your own almond milk 🙂 But like you, I found the taste a bit to blah! When I added it to the smoothies, then I can taste the nutty flavor.

    Have a blessed weekend!

    m.

    • malrae
      April 13, 2012

      Glad it wasn’t just me! Maybe a Vitamix would be able to break down the almonds more and infuse the taste better? Thanks Maria.

      • maria
        April 13, 2012

        Yes, actually, I do have a Vitamix, but the taste comes out the same 🙂
        m.

Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2012 by in breakfast, raw, vegan and tagged , , , .

Archives

Seasonal Newsletter:

