Holistic RDN

An exploration in well-being, real foods and simple living. Let me help you on your path to wellness.

Purposeful Living

Photo credit: Ann from Small Sailboat Sailing Meetup

Yes! I went sailing in Bradenton, FL. I’m in the nearest sunfish above and my mom is in the next with the yellow shirt. I’ve sailed my mom’s sunfish only once before, so I needed a little bit of a refresher, but I got the hang of it by the end of the day. It was so amazing to feel the wind in the sail and be so close to the water. I also got to be crew on a hobie catamaran and a windrider trimaran with the Small Sailboat Sailing Meetup group. What a blast! My mom always told me about sailing her sunfish as a young adult in the Sarasota Bay, so it was amazing to be able to sail with her.

The day before, Mom and I went paddle boarding in Tampa Bay and saw dozens of sting rays and skates; we got out of the Bay just before an afternoon rainstorm hit.

It is experiences like this that I hope fill my life as I practice purposeful living. Mom and I were talking while relaxing on sand bar in Tampa Bay, and I was telling her about my philosophy of trying to take each day as a gift and living in the Now. She said if I’ve learned that at a young age, then I’m in good shape. I am still learning. I hope I can keep this sentiment close to my heart as I go forward in this journey, through the good times and the hard times.

I am also trying to remember that change is never easy. Part of me longs for my independent existence, my apartment and close friends in Richmond. While my parents have put so much effort into making me comfortable living with them in Florida, there’s nothing quite like the autonomy that comes with your own place. I am trying to stay in the Now, appreciating my time with them, while also looking forward to beginning wwoofing in mid-May(ish).

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you ought to set up a life you don’t need to escape from.” -Seth Godin, Tribes

“When in doubt of the next step, help someone and make something. Come back to the basics: helping and creating.” – Chris Guillebeau

Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2012 by in mindfulness, travel, WWOOF.

Archives

Seasonal Newsletter:

